Lucy Spraggan Joins the Young Voices Choir.

getimage

LucySpraggStarBanUKCORRECT_475_238

On the 2nd to the 5th March young people from schools across the region of Greater Manchester giving children the opportunity of a lifetime to sing on stage in the regions biggest arena alongside some incredible artists!

Joining them this year is former X Factor Star , the fantastic Lucy Spraggan and we were lucky enough to talk to her about her involvement in the project.

Hi Lucy!

How did you become involved with the Young Voices Choir and what was it that encouraged you to join them?

I did some work with Macmillan last year and Young Voices invited me to perform at the Royal Albert Hall as part of their Christmas charity gig. I had the best time and it was amazing to sing my songs with so many children. When they asked if I wanted to do a full tour I couldn’t say no.

How important do you think it is schools get involved in projects like Young Voices and what do you think children gain from the experience?

So important. It gives children the chance to perform in massive arenas at such a young age, and who knows, might give them a taste for it. I played my first show when I was 12 and I knew then that’s all I wanted to do.

You have no doubt met some talented young singers, what would your advice be to them and would you ever encourage them to go on a show like the X Factor if they wanted to make a career out of singing?

They should just do whatever they want and whatever they feel is right. It’s not the right path for everyone but it’s obviously an amazing platform and gives people the chance to get their name out there and forge a career for themselves.

What are you enjoying the most from being involved with Young Voices?

Hearing 4,000 children a night sing the songs you’ve written is an incredible feeling. I’ve been singing my forthcoming single Unsinkable and they really get behind it 100%. It’s been incredible.

Can we look forward to any new music from you? The twelve year old in our house loves Tea and Toast.

Yes, my new album will be out in Spring and as I say, the single Unsinkable will be out in March. I can’t wait for people to hear the new stuff!

And finally the question Mumsnet ask all our guests…

What is your favourite biscuit?

I’m a huge biscuit fan so this is a really tough question. I think biscuits come with different moods, so I just can’t give a definitive answer I’m afraid!

To find out more visit http://www.youngvoices.co.uk

Leave a Reply

